Friday, November 16, 2012

The Abbey Road Sessions, Kylie Minogue Album Review

Just in time for the Holiday season Kylie Minogue is releasing her newest CD The Abbey Road Sessions.  Fans will want to make sure to get their copy as this CD features 16 songs from her 25 year career.   Songs include hits and previously unreleased works making it much more than a "hits" cd.  I will admit that this is the first CD that I have owned by Kylie Minogue but I am very happy to add it to my collection.  This would be a great CD to put in for "girl's night out"!
Really? It's been 25 years?  Wow, where does time go?

Track # 4 Hand On Your Heart really stood out to me.  It really captures her unique crystal clear sultry vocals.  It's a catchy tune that I can picture myself belting out around the house or listening to while relaxing.  La, la, la, la  la, la, la.... Can't Get You Outta My Head (Track 11) is one of my favorite Kylie Minogue songs and the reworked version on this CD is my favorite.  The Abbey Road Sessions beautifully pairs Kylie Minogue's vocals and orchestral arrangements.  Don't be fooled by "orchestral arrangements" this CD still delivers upbeat songs that Kylie Minogue is known for.  I've enjoyed listening to this CD several times while reading emails and catching up online.

Want to check it out for yourself?  The video below is an excellent sampler of the works on this CD.  I know it's almost 9 minutes long but go ahead give it a listen while you are getting caught up here on StuffSmart.  I'd love to know what you think.  Which song/s is your favorite?
1. All The Lovers
2. On A Night Like This
3. Better The Devil You Know
4. Hand On Your Heart
5. I Believe In You
6. Come Into My World
7. Finer Feelings
8. Confide In Me
9. Slow
10. The Locomotion
11. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow
13. Flower
14. I Should Be So Lucky
15. Love At First Sight
16. Never Too Late
A few facts that I didn't know:
  • Kylie has been celebrating K25, her 25th Anniversary in music, all throughout 2012. It has been an extraordinary career so far—60 million global album sales, multiple hit singles, global tours, and industry accolades—all of which has permanently cemented her place in music history as a bona fide superstar.
  • Kylie is a breast cancer survivor and donates her time to American Cancer Society, as well as amFAR for AIDS research.
  • Kylie’s latest single “Flower” is a song she wrote several years ago following her battle with breast cancer, to the child she wishes she might one day still have.
Kylie Minogue's The Abbey Road Sessions is available for purchase:
  • via iTunes
  • via Deluxe Edition (Special offer: Buy a CD, get $1 in Amazon MP3 Credit. Limit one promotional credit per customer. see details on product page)
  • via Standard Edition (Special offer: Buy a CD, get $1 in Amazon MP3 Credit. Limit one promotional credit per customer. see details on product page)
*Disclosure:  I was provided a free copy of this CD through One2One Network for review.  By posting, I am eligible for incentives.  All opinions stated are my own.